The Sisters

on

When I signed up for this great project I didn’t have a very clear idea of what I would put in the sketchbook  – all I did know was that it wouldn’t be a drawing or painting because I have no illusions about my abilities in that department.  I attended a workshop last year to learn freehand embroidery and fully intended to come home and practice because it is certainly something that improves once you are more confident and relax into it.  Of course, other things came up and I never did achieve ‘perfection’ – far from it –  but I still wanted to do something in freehand embroidery as nobody else had done it by the time the sketchbook reached me in France almost a year after it started on its journey.  It is sketching of a sort, after all,  but using thread instead of a pencil or brush and moving the ‘paper’ instead of the ‘pencil’.   So many accomplished entries preceded mine but sisters holding hands around the world seemed an achievable, simple but apt contribution to the sketchbook .  I’m looking forward to seeing the last couple of entries from the U.K. The finished sketchbook is going to be a treasure.

 

Tialys Freehand Embroidery
for the Sisterhood of the Travelling Sketchbook 2016/2017  by Tialys

 

 

w

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Simply wonderful. Cleverly understated, it conveys so much, so beautifully ♡

    Like

    1. tialys says:

      Thanks so much.

      Like

  2. kathyreeves says:

    It seems perfect to me.

    Like

    1. tialys says:

      You’re too kind. I had a lot of fun with it and hope to do a bit more with this method of embroidery now – I’ve already made a Mother’s Day card.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment