Winter Tree

On its leisurely trip around the world, the sketchbook reached Germany in the couple of weeks when it was winter! Temperatures below freezing, and the snow crunching under my feet.

A real winter is what I want to celebrate with my contribution to the sketchbook. I love how the trees look in winter, with snow on the ground and the leaves all gone to reveal the complex structure of the branches. So this is what jumped out of my brain into the sketchbook:

Winter Tree

The tree is machine-embroidered, with different dark brown wool yarns couched down to make up the trunk and the bigger branches.

On the facing page I added a little letter to my fellow sisters about the inspiration for my addition:

Winter Tree - Page Spread

I hav now sent the sketchbook on to its next stop on its travels around the world, and I hope everybody is going to enjoy it as much as I did!

5 Comments Add yours

  1. M. L. Kappa says:

    This is wonderful! I really love the variety among the different works ๐ŸŒบ๐Ÿ’•

    Like

  2. ladyredspecs says:

    Wow, I too love the contrast of the different contributions. You beautiful embroidery feels very wintery..

    Like

  3. kathyreeves says:

    That background fabric really sets the wintery tone. It reminds me of snowy wind gusts!

    Like

  4. Chas Spain says:

    Such a beautiful image especially for us in the tail end of summer! I imagine the photo can’t do justice to the craft involved in creating this work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

