Painting with yarn

The sketchbook arrived in Wales, Chez Snail, back in March, but I have only recently (May) got round to completing my contribution… or actually, as it turned out, contributions.

I knew that I wanted to use mandalas and circles as my theme and I also knew that there was no way that I would be able to draw or sketch anything worthy of inclusion. So, I dug out the finest wool that I had and a 2.25mm crochet hook and set to work painting with yarn. I was rather pleased with my first creation:

IMGP2286 (2)
mandala #1

But when I checked, I’d made it too big, so that was rejected. On reflection, I decided that smaller circles might be better, plus that would allow me to incorporate some words. I mounted my crochet by stitching it onto stiff paper, then added some words. And this is what I ended up with…

Encircling the earth: the skill of our hands, the love in our hearts. Brought together by our creativity and kindness, although we are separated by hundreds of miles… …our shared passions bind us together. One sisterhood, representing one world, united in love.

You will notice that one of the circles is special, being made from a single colour of yarn. This circle, surrounded by the final words of the text I wrote, was chosen because of the name of the design. In fact, my piece is only the central part of an original design by Priscilla Hewitt called Circle of Friends Square. I’ve used the design before – indeed it appears twice in my Masterpiece blanket:

For the Sketchbook it seemed appropriate to incorporate this design (unusual in that it requires you to turn it over and crochet in the reverse direction for several of the rounds). The wool that I selected looks, at first glance, like a rather dull pale brown, but look closer and you will see the diversity in there.

IMGP2801 (2)

Just like people, there is so much more to this element of my Sketchbook contribution than first appears.

And that should have been the end of it… but I just wasn’t able to leave it there. You see, the very fine wool was not British, and I really wanted to contribute something made of local wool. So, using Cambrian Wool, bought from Red Apple Yarn, I made the sketchbook a pouch to protect it on the rest of its journey…

I even made a little pocket inside, so I could include a postcard giving information about the wool:

Now, all that remains is to pack it up and bid the sketchbook a fond farewell as it goes on its way to Yorkshire and The Crafty Creek… its last stop before it returns to Australia.

IMGP2811

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Laurie Graves says:

    Such a wonderful project!!!!

    Like

    1. It has been an honour to be involved.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. craftycreeky says:

    I love your entry, the words are beautiful 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you – I’ll be sending it on tomorrow… it had visitors on Monday and I haven’t had chance to get to the post office since then.

      Like

Leave a Reply

