A Greek addition

Hello Sisters – and friends!

I was very excited to get my claws on the Sketchbook – and people’s contributions exceeded my expectations. It really is a thing of beauty, in its diversity and joyful mood.

I had already thought about what I would draw, of course, but didn’t finalize anything until I could see it ‘live’. Then it all came together. I wanted to do something with a connection to Greek history, with a slight feminist slant and a dash of humor! I hope I succeeded, but I will let you be the judges of that.

 

The naming of Athens
The naming of Athens

Athena, having produced an olive tree by striking the Acropolis rock with her spear, lords it over Poseidon, who has only managed a salty fountain with his trident. The people have voted, and the city will be called Athina (Athens). Poseidon, although seated on a magnificent throne, looks a little put out by being trumped by a woman, albeit a goddess.

(You can read more on my blog, here)

I have thoroughly enjoyed the whole process, one to be repeated, I hope.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. malgay651 says:

    A credit to each and everyone’s, creativity

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ladyredspecs says:

    I just love the facial expression you have given Anthena, much more genteel than a finger gesture but just as expressive. The Sketchbook’s content is gathering momentum…..

    Liked by 1 person

  3. anne54 says:

    Athena has always been one of my favourites; this story just confirms it for me! What a lovely contribution to the Sketchbook, and such a Greek flavour to it. That blue is sensational.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m with Athena, olives are the food of goddesses. Great contribution.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Chas Spain says:

    Such a superbly beautiful addition for the sketch book Marina

    Liked by 1 person

    1. M. L. Kappa says:

      Thank you, Chas! I loved yours, btw💕

      Like

Leave a Reply

