The Sisterhood Quilt

I broke out in a cold sweat when the sketchbook arrived in the post. I’m crafty and creative in my way, but was a bit intimidated by the artistic abilities represented in the sketch book. I calmed down, let different ideas wash over me, and eventually decided on a paper quilt using images of the art and poetry that came before me.

My entry is The Sisterhood Quilt: Stitching Together Art and Friendship Around the Globe. I copied each of the traveling entries so far, and created a collage of squares. I printed the squares on watercolor paper, then double stitched them to a piece of onion skin typing paper. I included a square of the map, and a square of my recent squirrel pillow project. It’s called Four Loves: Animals, Sewing, Nature and Photography.

sisterhood quilt full page
Sisterhood Quilt: *Upper row* Kate, Chas, Chas and Viv *Middle row* Anne, Sandi, Sandra and Alys *Bottom row* Anne’s cover, book detail, map (copyrighted material belonging to original artists. All rights reserved)

 

I’ve written a longer post on my blog, GardeningNirvana, with link backs to all the sisters. I’m humbled and inspired by your creativity and sharing ways.

 

Save

Save

25 Comments Add yours

  1. ladyredspecs says:

    Very clever concept Alys, love it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! It was a nice way for me to revisit all of the contributions so far. Once I decided on the plan, it was a joy. By the way, I love the moniker “lady red specs”. Clever!

      Like

  2. katechiconi says:

    Great idea! We are stitched together as the Sketchbook is stitched together. I’m loving what our creative community is coming up with!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Kate. I love what the community is creating as well, each entry unique and wonderful. I’m delighted to be a part of this.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. knettycraft says:

    What a wonderful idea to combine all previous posts to build a quilt! Love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you! I’m glad you like it. I’m looking forward to seeing all the future additions as well. It’s exciting, isn’t it?

    Like

  5. anne54 says:

    Isn’t it amazing how every Sister has contributed something unique? Not really surprising, because we are all uniquely creative individuals. I love your idea of the quilt Alys, and am so looking forward to seeing what our other Sisters create.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Anne. Me too!

      Like

  6. Creative idea….its the best one Alys….👏👏👏💐😊☺️👌👍🌹💖

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much. I’m glad it spoke to you.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. 😊😊☺️👍💐🌹

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Chas Spain says:

    Wow Alys – I went all tingly to see the quilt – that is such a beautiful idea. Thank you.

    Like

    1. Thank you. It was such a pleasure to execute once the idea presented itself. I’m so inspired by your talents!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Chas Spain says:

        Thanks Alys that’s really kind. If only we all had more time :>

        Like

      2. I know, right? We need a Sisterhood convention.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Chas Spain says:

        Yes yes – perhaps we can have a virtual meet up.

        Like

      4. Yes! A Skype, perhaps. I’ve done this many times with other friends met through blogging, but living in different countries and on different coasts.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Chas Spain says:

        Hi Alys – what a long break it’s been – I had an overseas trip and the computer died and then life overtook me. Perhaps we should have a return of the sketchbook party online.

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Chas, welcome back. I hope you enjoyed your trip overseas. I’m sorry to hear about the dead computer though. That’s the worst. I’ve missed our sketchbook group.

        Liked by 1 person

      7. Chas Spain says:

        Hi Alys – thanks for sympathising – so slow to get back into the swing of writing as the year crashes to a close! 2017 promises to bring new things..

        Like

      8. Chas, I couldn’t have said it better: it does feel like the year is crashing to a close. I wish I could say I was hopeful for the new year, but with our president elect, I’m struggling to find my optimism. Truth be told, I’m a scared. Welcome back to blogland, where all the loving, reasonable people like to hang out.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

