How to ride to the National Gallery of Victoria

Dear Sisters

With apologies for holding onto the sketchbook for too long but it is now in the hands of Australia Post and heading in Sandi’s direction for its next contribution.

Herewith my offering – which I hope is not too naïve and whimsical – but I am sure none of you mind such things.

I took off on the bike a couple of weekends ago thinking it would help me with some arty ideas to contribute to the sketchbook. But after a while I just enjoyed the ride, even though there was a bit of rain, and thought instead about how every part of the trail had something interesting or special to see. And then I arrived at my favourite destination – a little hot and nicely mud spattered – and went past the wonderful watery windows of the National Gallery to seek the warmth of the lounge and a lovely hot flat white. I felt like a thoroughly bona fide Melburnian.

Then I realised that the bike trail and the glimpses on the way would make a great series of little sketches – but how to stretch the sketch out to cover the ride of about 20km?
Some of the other sketchbooks I’d found were a great inspiration. Of course! I could make a foldout map which would cover the different legs of the journey – which would also let me make a map – something else (as you know by now) that I also love to do.

So no more words – here is some of what’s inside. But there is a little story to read and you might spot me peddling along in my green pants. Also you have to start from the bottom (of course!)

1-IMG_21271-IMG_21141-IMG_2113

1-IMG_2112
How to ride from Hughesdale to the National Gallery of Victoria
27 Comments Add yours

  1. katechiconi says:

    Love it! You’ve even passed my old workplace, and taken me to one of my former favourite Saturday visiting places, the NGV! A lovely blast from the past… I love the little drawings – you have a real talent for ‘character’ maps!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Chas Spain says:

      Thanks Kate – so glad there’s something which brings back good memories. I enjoyed doing the quick sketches and not letting myself get too fussed about them but now I think I would like to make a proper little book – maybe.

      Like

      1. katechiconi says:

        A whole book of bike routes? Sounds like a brilliant idea, and perhaps something you could get the city council interested in!

        Like

  2. knettycraft says:

    I love it… all about it!!! The idea to draw a journey, a map, the small circle sketches! It is wonderful Chas!

    Like

  3. ladyredspecs says:

    Love it, a day trip for our well travelled sketchbook, and a reflection on a day in it’s life with you. Brilliant concept and gorgeous little illustrations.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Chas Spain says:

      Thanks Sandra. Must be nice cycling around your part of the world as well?

      Like

      1. ladyredspecs says:

        I’m no cyclist, I’m a walker instead. There’s a shared pathway by the river….

        Liked by 1 person

  4. EllaDee says:

    The first word that came to mind… exquisite ☆
    The concept is clever and the rendition is delightful.
    A stunning contribution to the Sketchbook ☺

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Chas Spain says:

      Thanks so much Ella really kind words – I think you’re coming up after Sandi to get the sketchbook?

      Like

      1. EllaDee says:

        Hmmm, I hope not, as I’m travelling in a caravan around Australia and have no fixed address! I’ve asked Anne to put me last on the list and not send me anything until after we get back home… if this isn’tvtye case maybe I should withdraw to prevent confusion and the Sketchbook getting stuck… I’ll email Anne.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Chas Spain says:

        Sorry Dale that’s my error for looking at the map and not the list. I’m sure the sketchbook can come to you sometime …. Hope you have an absolutely amazing trip.

        Like

  5. tialys says:

    I love your contribution – I’m sure it will look even better ‘in real life’ and can’t wait to see it.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. M. L. Kappa says:

    Just seen my comments on your work did not post… Weird. Anyhow, I absolutely loved it! What a brilliant idea – and very adapted to the whole traveling concept. Well done!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Chas Spain says:

      Hi I think the comment came through ok on my blog 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. anne54 says:

    Chas, it is delightful! Your photos give me a glimpse of your lovely work, and I am looking forward to being able to pour over it to see all the fine detail. (I think we will have to send the Sketchbook around to the Sisterhood again, so that everyone will be able to see the complete work of art.) (Sorry that I have just got to add my thoughts to your contribution….I have been out of touch with the blogging world for a while.)

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Chas Spain says:

      Hi Anne – so nice to see you’re back on the internet of things. The Sisters were wondering if we would have to send out a little search party. Have you been doing lovely botany projects – I had a proper look through your blog the other day and read all about the fantastic project up in NSW. So wonderful – I will mark the diary for the exhibition in Ballarat for sure.

      Like

      1. anne54 says:

        Unfortunately I haven’t been doing anything exciting. Not quite sure where my head has been, but it certainly hasn’t been in the usual places! The Beckler Project is a wonderful project, and I am so pleased to be a part of it, and will certainly let you know how it goes. We will be heading up to Menindee during September.

        Like

    1. Chas Spain says:

      thanks for the link Anne!

      Like

  8. Magpie Sue says:

    I knew it would be a bad idea for me to see what others have already done in the sketchbook! I’m going to have to work at not being intimidated by what’s already been done. I’m going to try not to make any plans about what to do in the book either, not until I have it in my hot little hands. ;- )

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Chas Spain says:

      Hi Sue – I Felt the same and you’re right – you have to live with the sketchbook for a little while and then it will suggest some ideas…

      Like

  9. Chas, I’m finally getting the hang of the sisterhood blog. I wanted to add that I love your sketches and the way you placed them on the trail like a map. I’ve been showing off the book to everyone, or did, but now it’s on to Sue. It was a treasure to hold.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Chas Spain says:

      Thanks so much Alys – what a treasure it is and now it is becoming more so with every new addition

      Like

      1. I agree. It’s quite remarkable in every way.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Chas Spain says:

      Thanks Anne for the link up 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

